Love Letter

Dear Dad,
Thank you for raising me in the forests up north. When I was younger I know I gave you and mom a hard time about taking us away from our friends and the city for our summer holidays. Now, I thank you. Your passion for fishing, mountain biking, and knowing every animal we come across- or so you think, are very inspiring. I remember when we would go on walks in the morning’s and you would somehow look at the sky and tell us when and if it was going to be hot, cloudy, or how the weather would be that day. We always thought you were crazy. It is now clear that you knew the environment. You grew up in the forests up north. You had the knowledge of the best paths to walk, the best lakes to fish, and where to find the bears if we were going on drives. The cabin and the lake up north have grown to be my favorite place to go. I enjoy sitting on the deck in the morning watching the sun rise, listening to the birds, and watching Zoe- our dog, chase the squirrels all around. All the knowledge you have gained about the outdoors and up north you have always said is from Grandpa Bob. By the sounds of it, he was a bird loving, fish catching, great guy. I wish I had had the chance to meet him. But as you said, He is always with us watching us as we grow. Especially up at the cabin.So thank you- for your knowledge, for the things you share and the things you continue to show me.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

